Monday, April 21, 2014

Marvelous Middle Grade Monday: What the Moon Said (with ARC giveaway!)

Even though we received eleven inches of snow on April 4th, I still enjoyed my spring blogging break. Thankfully, all that new snow melted by April 6th, the same day we broke out the deck furniture and had our first family outdoor dinner of the season. And now, the trees are budding, the grass is greening, and . . . I'm back blogging with an ARC giveaway to celebrate.

Thanks to Pamela Klinger-Horn, who loves books and is the school and outreach coordinator at Minneapolis indie bookstore Magers & Quinn, I received an ARC of What the Moon Said by Gayle Rosengren. And that means you have a chance to win it. Details about the giveaway are at the end of this post. Also due to Pamela, I'll be enjoying an evening out with Gayle Rosengren (and Pamela) in several weeks! (At least, I think, so. Plan still a go, Pamela?) (Follow up: It's a go. I'm excited!)

The premise: The Depression is tough on everyone, and when Esther's dad loses his job in Chicago, he moves the family to a Wisconsin farm. Esther sees it as an adventure, a time for new things, including the pets she's always wanted. But more than anything, Esther wants her mother's love, and so she follows Ma's belief in 'signs' as best as she can. But then, one of Ma's signs becomes one Esther cannot follow.

What I loved: The movement of the story. Esther, always looking for the good, grows and changes and begins to understand things she hasn't before. Told in a tender style with family at its heart, What the Moon Said is a story to cherish for any reader in any generation. The back cover says, "Fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder will flock to this exciting debut," and that says it pretty perfectly, I think.

To enter the giveaway of my ARC, simply comment on this post and have a United States mailing address. That's it. The giveaway is open until Sunday, April 27, 2014, at 8pm CDT. Winner announced Monday, April 28th.

For more great middle grade reads, follow the links on
Happy middle grade reading, 

23 comments:

  1. Glad to hear you enjoyed your blogging break, even if there was some snow during it! :)

    You're the second person I've seen post about this book, I think. It sounds like such a sweet story, and I absolutely adore that cover! It's so serene...

    ReplyDelete
  2. I hadn't heard of this one. It sounds lovely!

    ReplyDelete
  3. So glad you liked this. Let someone else win. I'm reading pretty slow these days.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Love the cover – so full of hope. I also like the historical era chosen and the premise sounds intriguing.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I've had this one on my TBR list for a while so I hope you'll put my name in the hat!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I've seen a few reviews of this book. I'm not usually a big fan of historicals, but this one sounds fantastic.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Welcome back from your blogging break despite the snow sounds like it was nice. I'm happy to see some more historical's coming out, but please don't enter me I have some books from the library to finish reading.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Yay for what sounds like another lovely historic novel! I would love to receive and arc, so I'll keep my fingers crossed!

    --Suzanne
    www.suzannewarr.com

    ReplyDelete
  9. Glad you had a relaxing break, despite the snow. I've been hearing great things about this book--if it's for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder, I'm in!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Sounds like the setting plays a large role in this book, which I always like. Thanks for highlighting.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Snow in April? Yikes! I love the cover of this one. (I've decided I've got a bit of a blue thing going on. Thanks for the opportunity to win an ARC.

    ReplyDelete
  12. I love historical fiction, I love this period, and I have had this book on my radar for a little while. I really want to read this one. Thanks for the chance to win. Glad your spring has finally sprung.

    ReplyDelete
  13. I love this cover, and have read some really good things about this MG. I hope your outing happens, sounds like it'd be so fun- an author and a book store person? Perfect! =)

    ReplyDelete
  14. This sounds like a marvelous book. I've been a Wilder fan forever. I love the title of this book. Also the premise. It's definitely on my TBR list! (I'd love to win a copy, too! (-: )

    ReplyDelete
  15. A sign she cannot follow... what a way to leave me hanging... along with comparing to Laura Ingalls Wilder. Yup, I'd love win this one.

    ReplyDelete
  16. I was watching this one on a Goodreads giveaway, and it looked really good. It's probably one both my daughter and I would love.

    ReplyDelete
  17. It sounds like a wonderful book that my kids and I would enjoy!

    ReplyDelete
  18. Sounds like a great outing! I loved this book, too.

    ReplyDelete
  19. Your weather sounds like ours. One minute it's nice. The next we get a big dump of snow...which melts the next day.

    ReplyDelete
  20. I have a solid group of students who love stories like this one. I hadn't heard of it, so I appreciate the heads up.

    ReplyDelete
  21. What a beautiful cover! The story sounds so enchanting. I love HF and this one sounds excellent. Thanks so much for sharing and for the chance to win a copy of this book. :)
    ~Jess

    ReplyDelete
  22. I love historical fiction. Would love for the opportunity to read this book!

    ReplyDelete

Comments. Yay! They're almost as good as chocolate. Almost.